The Caribbean Marine Association Formation Workshop was held on February 22-24 2005 at the Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean’s headquarters in Port of Spain, Trinidad. 

The workshop was attended by public and private sector representatives from Antigua, Belize, Barbados, St. Lucia, Grenada, St. Vincent, Dominica, Trinidad and Tobago, Bahamas, British Virgin Islands, Curacao and Jamaica.  The Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States and the Caribbean Tourism Organisation were also in attendance. 

Christopher Marshall, President of the Yacht Services Association of Trinidad and Tobago delivered the welcome address.  In his speech, Mr. Nigel Pierre, Director, UNECLAC acknowledged the role that ECLAC’s Eastern Caribbean yachting study had played in bringing about the workshop proceedings while Mr. Anthony Smallwood, Charge d’Affaires of the Delegation of the European Union urged the delegates to consider all issues affecting Caribbean development.  The Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Tourism delivered the feature address on behalf of the Honourable Howard Chin Lee, Minister of Tourism. 

During the first half of Day One of the workshop, Mr. Cuthbert Didier of ALL Inc. presented the Policy Framework for the Association and during the afternoon session, Mr. Richard Williams of Tourism Global, presented the Organisational Structure and Constitution for the Association.  On the second day, working groups focused on confirming the work program and agreeing to the proposed Constitution.  On the final day, a Steering Committee was formed and charged with the responsibility of finalizing the Constitution and a fee structure.

A Board of Directors of the Caribbean Marine Association was duly formed with Directors drawn from the marine and yachting associations of Antigua & Barbuda, the British Virgin Islands, Grenada, St. Lucia, St. Maarten, St. Vincent & The Grenadines and Trinidad & Tobago.  Subsequently, The Bahamas was added to the group.

At the AGM held in St. Lucia on 23rd June 2011 a new Board of Directors was elected to serve in the positions listed below.


John Duffy  President    Antigua & Barbuda +1 268 562 6611
Bob Hathaway  Vice-President  St. Lucia +1 758 451 4275
Kass Johnson-Halliday Secretary  St. Maarten +1 599 587 1948
Anita Sutton Treasurer  Grenada +1 473 443 3603
Shamine Johnson Director  Bahamas +1 242 352 7849
Don Stollmeyer Director  Trinidad & Tobago +1 868 634 4303
Sam Welch Director  British Virgin Islands +1 284 494 2751
John West Director  St. Vincent & the Grenadines +1 784 456 9608
Keats Compton Past President  Martinique  +1 596 696 70 43 07


CMA Update
Date: 6th September, 2018
Caribbean Marine Association Today

TBT Sales Prosecuted
Date: 9th October, 2014
Executives of Sea Hawk Paints, Florida, plead guilty to selling banned TBT paints and are heavily fined.

Monserrat joins the CMA
Date: 23rd January, 2014
The CMA expands further with the addition of Montserrat to its membership


cde acp This website has been supported with a contribution of the Centre for the
Development of Enterprise (CDE), a joint EU-ACP organisation: ref.
Website Management -
Website Design - Taryn Doram
Website Development - Supatone Innovation
© Caribbean Marine Association 2011